We are experiencing a very high volume of calls at the moment. Please hold or try again later. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Leicester College Blog

T Levels: The next level qualification and UCAS points

T Levels are a new type of qualification. They are being introduced for students who want a vocationally based qualification. A T Level Certificate will be equal to three A levels.

Updates from government offer great news that students who successfully pass all parts of their T Level will gain UCAS points, like A level students do. Importantly, this will allow them to go on to university – should they wish to.

T Level will comprise five parts. Some of these receive a grade, while others need confirmation that it has been successfully completed:

  1. core component (graded A*-E)
  2. occupational specialisms (graded Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction* for each specialism)
  3. English and maths qualifications (confirmation that minimum requirements have been met)
  4. industry placement (confirmation that this has been successfully completed)
  5. other mandatory requirements (confirmation that these have been met)

Students who pass all parts will receive an overall grade of Pass, Merit, Distinction or Distinction*.

How do T Level and A level UCAS points compare?

T level overall gradeEquivalent three A level gradesUCAS tariff points
Pass (C or above on core component)CCC96
Pass (D or E on core component)DDD72

When will Leicester College start offering T Levels?

We will begin to deliver T Levels at Leicester College in September 2021. So students who are entering year 10 in September 2019 will be able to apply for them. We will offer T Levels in the following subjects:

  • digital
  • construction
  • education and childcare
  • healthcare science

T Levels in other subjects will be rolled out over the coming years.

Sign Up for Updates

Be the first to discover all the latest news, offers, courses and events at Leicester College...