Leicester College Blog

Choose a BTEC Qualification


BTEC qualifications were introduced by the Business and Technology Education Council which began in 1984.

The BTEC qualification was designed to look at the needs of employers and providing relevant vocational and work place related courses, which allowed learners to progress in education.

BTECs currently cover the following subject areas:

  • Applied Science
  • Art and Design
  • Business and Services
  • Children and Young People
  • Construction and the Built Environment
  • Engineering
  • Hair and Beauty
  • Health and Social Care
  • IT
  • Media
  • Performing Arts and Music
  • Public Services and Uniformed Services
  • Sport
  • Hospitality
  • Travel and Tourism

A BTEC can take one to two years to complete, depending on whether you study for the course full-time or part-time. They can be taken alongside, or in place of, GCSEs and A levels as well as Diplomas.

BTEC have different levels you need to ensure you are enrolling for the correct level.

  • Entry – for learners to develop confidence and initial skills for either a broad work sector or everyday life
  • Introductory (Level 1) – a basic introduction to a particular industry sector. They encourage development of personal and work-related skills
  • Nationals (Level 3) - specialist qualifications for students with a clear view of their future career or seeking progression to higher education
  • Foundation Diploma in Art and Design (Level 3) – preparation for entry to higher education to study art and design
  • Higher Nationals (Level 5) – higher education qualifications widely recognised by universities and professional bodies
  • Development and Professional Development qualifications (Levels 4-8) – short courses needed for professional development
  • BTEC Short Courses - available at all levels
  • WorkSkills (Entry 3 – Level 2) – a suite of skills-based employability units.

(source: https://www.studential.com/further-education/vocational-qualifications/BTEC/guide-to-btec-qualifications)

As of 2016 there will be new courses added to the BTEC National courses that are available. Depending on your College you will be able to see what is available for you.

BTEC qualifications hold equivalences to GCSEs and A levels depending on what level you take. BTECs also count towards UCAS points to help you apply for universities.

Take a look online to see what course may suit you: www.leicestercollege.ac.uk

Sign Up for Updates

Be the first to discover all the latest news, offers, courses and events at Leicester College...